Shop Local: Plato’s Closet

After concluding my last interview with Hillary Schieve, co-creator of the Biggest Little Fashion Truck, she asked if I’d be interested in helping her out with some spring revamping at Plato’s Closet. Not only is Hillary part owner of the BLFT, she’s also the owner Plato’s Closet and Clothes Mentor—two brand name gently used clothing stores that buy, sell and trade the latest trends in Reno’s Midtown district. Hillary’s request made me outright giddy for two reasons. First, I love Plato’s Closet. Second, I love styling.

Plato's Closet Reno I head to Plato’s Closet whenever I am in the mood for a quick wardrobe update that won’t break the bank. Plato’s sells gently used brand name clothing at a fraction of its original cost. The store also has a staff of buyers who are constantly sorting through clothes to find items that fit the latest trends. The buyers are good at what they do; I can almost always find something I like, and I can’t tell you how many times I have come across items that still have their original tags intact.

Plato's Closet RenoToday’s trip to the store was quite similar to other trips, only this time I wasn’t scouring the racks for myself…instead, I was busy searching for the store displays. I think I went through just about every item of clothing in the store, pulling each trendy piece I came across. Once I had a good collection going, I started styling some of the store mannequins. I tackled one rather large display, and I was pretty happy with the outcome. What was the coolest part about my day you ask? I’d have to say over hearing a couple of customers ask if my outfits were for sale.

Plato’s Closet is open Monday through Saturday from 10:00am to 9:00pm and Sunday from 11:00am to 7:00pm. However, the buying counter is only open until 7:00pm Monday through Saturday and 5:00pm on Sunday. The next time your wardrobe could use some revamping, I suggest checking out Plato’s Closet…your wallet will thank you.

One thought on “Shop Local: Plato’s Closet

  1. Pingback: Shop Local: Clothes Mentor | Reno Has Style

Leave a Reply

