Fashion Repeater

I’ve always been intrigued by the concept of trends repeating themselves through out the decades. I can’t tell you how many times my mom has told me she used to have a pair of shoes, jeans or a top ‘just like that‘ when she was my age. My response is always the same–Why’d you ever get rid of it? Can you imagine all of the vintage goodness that would fill my closet had she never parted ways with those awesome high waisted bell bottoms or that legitimate 1987 Guns and Roses tour tee? Instead I have to settle for my Hudsons and an H&M replica. That’s okay though, it makes scouring the thrift store racks for the real deal that much more fun.

70’s

B Jones Style 70'sOne of my favorite fashion bloggers, Beth of B Jones Style, seems to constantly channel the trends of decades past…And this outfit is pure 70’s. From the hat all the way down to the suede booties this look makes my inner hippie smile. Beth is always styling up vintage pieces; she scored this fab knit dress from Lost and Found Vintage in Orange, California.

80’s

My Style Pill 80'sAs trends recycle themselves, I think they get better. They get more glam. Take this look for example, its worthy of a John Hughes film, yet it works so well today. Christine of My Style Pill is killing it with her accessories, especially the fedora and over-sized shades–its enough to make Molly Ringwald envious.

90’s

Pink Peonies 90'sDenim on denim in the 90’s was just a staple of the grunge scene. Denim on denim today is…well hot. Rachel of Pink Peonies has this trend dialed in. If you’re going to do denim on denim you really have to watch the shades that you mix. The light and dark here are a perfect combination. I’m also loving Rachel’s accessories. The neon heels and statement necklace really pull this look together.

Which trend are you dying to see make a comeback? Share your thoughts below!

Photo Credit: 1, 2, 3

Leave a Reply

