Pack With A Purpose

Those who know me probably doubt my ability to write this post because I almost always over pack. It isn’t because I don’t know how to pack lightly though…I’d say its more a fear of not having the right outfit for an unexpected situation. When I begin packing I always have a detailed list running through my mind; however, when crunch time sets in I throw all logic out the window.

While packing for a recent overnight trip to San Francisco, I realized that I needed to formulate my own reusable packing list. Today, I am going to share that list with you. Utilize it properly and you’ll be sure to make the most out of your carry-on luggage.

Fashionable Luggage

First things first, much like my list of wardrobe essentials, you want the items in your suitcase to mix and match with each other. This way you get the very most out of each article you pack. This is easily achievable if you stick to a neutral pallet and add in a few key colorful pieces.

Start with your bottoms: one pair of black trousers, one pair of dark denim and a pencil skirt. All three of these items can be dressed up or down, and with the exception of the jeans, can be worn for work or play.

Bottoms

Now that you have the base items for your traveling wardrobe, you’ll want to add in a few more additional key items. You’ll want to pack a silky blouse, a brightly colored top and a light sweater. You can pair each top with each bottom, giving you a total of 9 different outfits from only 6 items.

Tops

With the previously mentioned 6 items you have a very stylish set of possible outfit combinations. All that’s left to add is a few accessories and extras. A black blazer does double duty–It makes any outfit more professional, and it can be layered for extra warmth in an instance of inclement weather. Next is a silk scarf, it adds instant glam to any outfit. I also recommend adding a skinny leather belt; it can be wrapped around your silk blouse or light sweater for a chic twist.

Accessories

As far as shoes are concerned I recommend a pair of black flats and a pair of nude heels. Finally I always include a piece of statement jewelry…it could be a pair of earrings, a necklace or even a watch, but its always nice to add a little dimension.

Shoes & Statement Piece

And there you have it. With only 12 items, you have a ton of outfit possibilities. After these items make their way into your luggage you’ll still have enough space for a pair of PJ’s, under garments, your toiletries, straightener and blow dryer. Who would have thought you could be set for a whole weekend with so few items?

Do you think you could you travel with only 12 articles of clothing? Share your comments below!

Photo Credit

5 thoughts on “Pack With A Purpose

  1. Great Post, as a guy I think I can travel with only 12 pieces of clothing, it’s a little easier for me to pack than my wife. I have always prided myself on packing light. We have a child on the way, and my wife has already alloted that half of my suitcase will have to go to baby stuff, so I guess my trend of packing light will continue 🙂

    • That’s funny! My family always teases me for over packing, but with this list I have realized that it really is doable. Your options expand exponentially if you are willing to mix and match the items that you pack.

  2. Pingback: Unexpected Pairings | The Thread Engine

Leave a Reply

